Public Access Lake Texoma Image

Asbury Smith Award

Bob Hines

Bob Hines


This year’s Asbury Award goes to Bob Hines. This year more than ever Bob has helped in getting our advertisement up and running. You know of the advertisement going on this year and Bob played a big role in getting the club in local print with the artwork being a stellar fit for the club. 

Behind the scenes Bob has also been maintaining the area leading up to the club. Thank you, Bob, for all you do and please keep it up.

To recognize the outstanding contributions of Asbury Smith to the Caney Creek Yacht Club (CCYC), the Board of Governors of the CCYC has established the Asbury Smith Award. This award is presented to those outstanding members of the CCYC who have demonstrated the qualities of trusted friend, yachtsman, and leader as personified by Asbury Smith.

As a trusted friend, Mr. Smith was always ready to lend a hand of assistance to anyone who could benefit from his technical skills or sound advice.

As a yachtsman, Mr. Smith built and outfitted “White Cloud,” represented CCYC across Lake Texoma as a regatta-winning sailor, and, was most fond of meditating to the sibilant sound of a yacht’s bow wave as he contemplated a shimmering sunset on Lake Texoma.

As a leader, Mr. Smith was not only a founder of CCYC, but also continued to provide the direction and vision necessary to promote sailing on Lake Texoma and to improve and maintain the facilities of CCYC for the benefit of all the members.

The consideration of nominations for the Asbury Smith Award will be made in an executive session of the July meeting of the CCYC Board of Governors. Nominations for the Award are to be made by any member of the CCYC Board of Governors attending the July board meeting. Following the nominations, the Board will consider the merit of each nominee and choose by a majority vote one recipient for the Award. The names of the nominees are not to be disclosed, and the name of an honored member will not be disclosed until the presentation of the Award. In the event that there are no nominations or if the Board determines that none of the nominees have met the criteria for the Award, no award will be presented.

The honored member will receive a bronze plaque signifying the member’s outstanding contribution to CCYC. The design of the plaque is to remain the same as the plaque presented at the 2002 banquet.

The Commodore will present the Award at the annual banquet of the CCYC.